Press Releases

Morris Myers, Apollo Jayeswen, Others To Testify Thursday

Montserrado County, Liberia
11 February, 2009
Categorized as pertaining to: Hearings

Monrovia, February 11, 2009 (TRC): Public Hearings of Liberia's Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) continues Thursday with the appearance of several witnesses including defunct National Patriotic Front of Liberia (NPFL) Special Forces commando Morris Myers.

Myers was amongst the first group of NPFL Fighters that launched an invasion from The Ivory Coast on December 24, 1989 to oust the government of slain President Samuel Kanyon Doe.

Also to testify Thursday are Jimmy Smith, Matthew Dolo, Peter O. Togbah, Sando Boute, Milton S. Yambakolo and McDonald Tarpeh, all former fighters of the defunct NPFL.

The line up of witnesses for Thursday also includes Junior Conteh, Kula Kamara alias, "Dead Body Bone," Mohammed Kamara Keita and Apollo Jayeswen, all commanders of the defunct United Liberation Movement for Democracy (ULIMOD).

Under the theme: "Understanding the Conflict Through its Principal Events and Actors," the ongoing hearings at the historic Centennial Pavilion in Monrovia are addressing the root causes of the conflict, including its military and political dimensions.

The hearings are focused on events between 1979 and 2003 and the national and external actors that helped to shape those events.

The TRC was agreed upon in the August 2003 peace agreement and created by the TRC Act of 2005. The TRC was established to "promote national peace, security, unity and reconciliation," and at the same time make it possible to hold perpetrators accountable for gross human rights violations and violations of international humanitarian law that occurred in Liberia between January 1979 and October 2003.

Signed: _________________________
Mambu James Kpargoi, Jr.
Media & Information Officer

Cclic This work is licensed under a Creative Commons
Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License
This had been the official website of the Liberian TRC. The Commission ended operation
in 2010. This website is maintained by the Georgia Institute of Technology.